The New Haven Museum is pleased to announce its first Twilight Concert Series, a summer outdoor concert series that will take place on the lawn at the Pardee-Morris House, located at 325 Lighthouse Road in New Haven. The Museum welcomes concertgoers of all ages to enjoy barbershop, bluegrass and folk music throughout the summer.
All concerts will begin at 7 pm. Starting at 6 pm, the Pardee-Morris House will be open to visitors and refreshments from Chestnut Fine Foods or wood-fired pizzas from Frank Andrews Mobile Kitchen will be available for purchase.
Visitors can bring blankets and chairs and enjoy a picnic on the lawn.
Admission is free, but donations are welcome.
Wednesday, August 15: The Sea, The Sea. (Rain Date: August 16.) Borrowing their name from the cry of joy made by ancient Greek soldiers upon their post-war homecoming, The Sea, The Sea is Mira Stanley from West Virginia and Chuck E. Costa from Connecticut. They meet in the middle with acoustic guitars. Chuck is currently Connecticut’s State Troubadour, serving as an ambassador of music and song and promoting cultural literacy among Connecticut citizens.
The Pardee-Morris House, one of the oldest surviving historic structures in Connecticut, dates from about 1780. Built by Amos Morris around 1750, the house was burned by the British during their raid on New Haven in 1779 and was rebuilt by the Morris family. In 1915, William Pardee, a descendant of the Morris family, willed the property to the New Haven Colony Historical Society, today the New Haven Museum. The Pardee-Morris House is open free of charge on Sundays from 12 pm to 5 pm through August 26, 2012.
The New Haven Museum, founded as the New Haven Colony Historical Society in 1862, is located in downtown New Haven at 114 Whitney Avenue. For more information, contact Michelle Cheng, Director of Education at (203) 562-4183 ext. 11 or firstname.lastname@example.org.