The New Haven Museum is pleased to announce its first Twilight Concert Series, a summer outdoor concert series that will take place on the lawn at the Pardee-Morris House, located at 325 Lighthouse Road in New Haven. The Museum welcomes concertgoers of all ages to enjoy barbershop, bluegrass and folk music throughout the summer.
All concerts will begin at 7 pm. Starting at 6 pm, the Pardee-Morris House will be open to visitors and refreshments from Chestnut Fine Foods or wood-fired pizzas from Frank Andrews Mobile Kitchen will be available for purchase.
Visitors can bring blankets and chairs and enjoy a picnic on the lawn.
Admission is free, but donations are welcome.
Wednesday, July 18: The Usual Suspects. (Rain Date: July 19) The Usual Suspects represents the Coastal Chordsmen, the oldest chorus in the Northeastern District of the international Barbership Harmony Society. Ron Rubano (tenor), Steve Fians (bass), Phil Kraft (lead), and Jim Farrell (baritone) have been performing together since 2009.
The Pardee-Morris House, one of the oldest surviving historic structures in Connecticut, dates from about 1780. Built by Amos Morris around 1750, the house was burned by the British during their raid on New Haven in 1779 and was rebuilt by the Morris family. In 1915, William Pardee, a descendant of the Morris family, willed the property to the New Haven Colony Historical Society, today the New Haven Museum. The Pardee-Morris House is open free of charge on Sundays from 12 pm to 5 pm through August 26, 2012.
The New Haven Museum, founded as the New Haven Colony Historical Society in 1862, is located in downtown New Haven at 114 Whitney Avenue. For more information, contact Michelle Cheng, Director of Education at (203) 562-4183 ext. 11 or firstname.lastname@example.org.