Shoreline Boy Scout Leaders Honored

Top honors were awarded to area Boy Scout leaders by the Lighthouse District of the Connecticut Yankee Council BSA.

Adult leaders were recently honored for exemplary service to youth and the Scouting program. The Lighthouse District of the Connecticut Yankee Council BSA awarded three adults with the district award of merit, the highest award a scout leader can receive at the district level. Long-time Scouter John Farley of East Haven received the Al Halliwell award, named after a now deceased scouting legend from the district. A host of other awards were also given out at the event, held last week in Branford.

The district award of merit went to Bob Day and Keith Spaar of Troop 428, Branford, scoutmaster and outdoor program chair, respectively, and Joan Furr, troop committee chair of North Branford's Troop 453. Spaar and Furr are the chairs of the district program and membership committees, respectively.

John Farley, currently serving as vice president of operations for the Connecticut Yankee Council, received the award named after the late Al Halliwell of Madison, who did just about everything there is to do in scouting, as has Mr. Farley. It is a brand new award that has only been granted once before. It recognizes long time service at the unit, district and council levels.

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »